Product Reviews

Dyson DC50 Multi Floor

DC50 is our smallest upright vacuum cleaner. The technology inside has not simply been ‘shrunk’, but concentrated – every angle and dimension re-engineered. So it’s smaller, but has the performance of a full-size upright machine. DC50 has our most advanced cleaner head technology, 2 Tier Radial™ cyclones and the latest Ball™ technology. $EmbeddedVideo:DC50 MF ANZ (Lightbox Video)$
Average Customer Rating:
3.9 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
8 of 10(80%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for DC50 Multi Floor
Review 1 for DC50 Multi Floor
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
My DC50
(18 July 2014)
Purchased my first Dyson yesterday, a DC50. I have been familiar with Dyson for many years as a few family members have had at least one.
Now its my turn to delve head first in to the world of Dyson...
First thing I did when I got home was vacuum the house with my old 'cheap' barrel. It has always picked up dirt and hair thanks to its turbo head but I never felt like it was actually cleaning. The filters ALWAYS got full of dust so it was obviously doing someyhing.
Then I went back through the house the the DC50, spending no more time or effort on any particular room than I did with the barrell. Wow, what a difference. There was at least twice the hair and five times the dust (fine dust!) contained in the DC05s canister. The carpets felt cleaner and softer, the air smelt better than after using using my old barrel and I could definitely see that the difference.
Emptying the canister is easy. Press the red button and the bottom door falls open and the dust and hair falls out. Some stuff gets lodged at the top of the cylinder, simply tap the cylinder against you palm and it swiftly falls out.
I have a severe lower back injury and I am 6'2" tall. The sliding handle is great, easily adjusts. The ball technology is fantastic, requires very little effort to control. The design is 'futuristic' and as it can have the handle lowered is easy to store. I like the weight of the DC50, not heavy but with enough wait to feel confident with its quality.
After reading the documents that came in the box, I was very pleased to read that Dyson offer an extended warranty that will extend the manufacturers warranty from 2 years to 5 years. As long as you didnt purchase the retailers extended warranty, which I did not.
Review 2 for DC50 Multi Floor
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cleaning performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Suction 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Allergies:Yes
Pets:None
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
(23 June 2013)
It took me weeks to decide on which vacuum cleaner to buy. A few friends recommended Dyson but I thought they were a bit pricey. Eventually this small, light and easy to use Dyson upright was the one for me. Light enough to carry upstairs and easy to move around the house. Amazing results from the beginning. This has all the power or more of a normal upright but so easy to move around and gets the job done perfectly and quickly. Easy to store away too. I was amazed at how clean my carpets looked. They haven't looked that good since they were new.
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for DC50 Multi Floor
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cleaning performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Suction 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Allergies:No
Pets:None
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Well worth it
(6 June 2013)
I wanted a multi floor vacuum cleaner and am generally happy with the DC50's performance. The suction is fabulous and it is easy to store and handle. It cleans both my carpet and timber floors with ease. little effort is required to push it along.
It is a little on the noisy side but not excessively so.
One satisfied customer.
I
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for DC50 Multi Floor
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cleaning performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Suction 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Allergies:No
Pets:None
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Great product
(30 May 2013)
Although it does fill very quickly needing to be emptied after each room, it is great for those living in a small space. Compact and great suction. I thought my floor was clean until I used the dyson.
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for DC50 Multi Floor
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Wow...
(21 March 2013)
I have just unboxed my brand new Dyson DC50 and given it a whirl. It is amazing.
The 2 square meters of rug that I vacuumed as a trial yielded more dirt and hair than my old machine could pick up from cleaning the whole house !!!
After just a single clean of the house the benefits of this machine are easy to see.
For one, the smell is a vast improvement. The old vacuum left a pong that permeated through the whole house from the (expensive) bags. This Dyson has no bags and therefore no odour at all. Versatility is also a bonus. Not only is this machine an upright but, with a simple operation it becomes a machine with a flexible hose for cleaning the car and under furniture etc; Brilliant.
This is my first upright machine. What a revelation! All vacuum cleaners should be this design. This DC50 is so light and easy to manoeuvre with its ball design. It’s ergonomically correct for natural movement. Away with the old heavy "conventional" vacuum cleaner, no more dragging the recalcitrant old lump of a machine by its hose, damaging furniture, knocking things over and barking my ankles.
Score 10/10 for this brilliant piece of engineering. Well-done Mr Dyson.
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for DC50 Multi Floor
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cleaning performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Suction 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Allergies:Yes
Pets:None
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
(19 July 2013)
Just bought the DC50. It is very small and light. (not sure why JLLL would say it is heavy?) It cleans very well, and is less noisy than our old upright, but that one is 29 yrs old. The cord is very long which means less stopping to unplug and find another powerpoint - this is unexpectedly pleasing. The unit can 'bend' low to go under furniture quite well. We didn't need to use the flat head attachment to get under desks etc. It cleaned our wooden floors surprisingly well. they look freshly mopped! There are a lot of 'bits' and clips and clicks putting it together, but its not hard to get used to these.
The only issues are with emptying the dust. The container is very small - less than a litre. It needs to be at least double this. Also just clicking the canister open is not enough. The dust tends not to fall out by itself, which makes the procedure a bit messy. The whole machine does feel plasticky and I doubt we will get 29 yrs out of it, but hopefully more than 10.
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for DC50 Multi Floor
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Very good, but....
(5 May 2013)
Pro: the machine is light, but sturdy. The suction is very good. It is easy to manoeuvre.
Con: Because it is among the smallest of the uprights, the barrel has to be emptied quite often when vacuuming not even a very large house. That procedure is not as cleanly done as one would wish. Even when emptying into a tightly-held plastic bag, fine dust escapes. Also, not all the dirt falls out from the barrel, when the bottom is opened. We have at times to remove some by hand, a messy business..
11 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for DC50 Multi Floor
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Dyson Upright
(3 April 2013)
I have ownedf a couple of Dysons now and overlal they are excellent quality. However, I have to say that I have been disppointed with my new upright when compared to my old barrel model.
Upright - The Good
Typical Dyson quality
Great suction and cleaning power
Upright - The Bad
Heavy to move around the house - even with the innovative "ball"
The detachable hose and fittings - the hose is far too tight and resists streatching out to a decent length - evan after 6 months of use.
Conclusion
I woudl not purchase another or recommend a Dyson upright to friends. My next Dyson will go back to the barrel model. It's lighter and far more versitile. I had thought that the upright would be a good choice for me, offering the best of both worlds, but I was wrong. It compromises both instead.
22 of 22 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for DC50 Multi Floor
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
No Faith in this sucker!
(18 April 2013)
Just purchased a DC50 Multi Floor Upright vacuum. Got it home and started to assemble it and not at all happy with it! It seems very weak and rickety in term of the construction! It all clicks and snaps together but appears really weak and to much flex at the joints, mainly where the handle clicks into the main body! Not confident this is going to last anytime at all, I don't have any faith in this unit and at $700 you would at least want to be filled with faith that it's going to last and be trouble free! We'll see.
7 of 11 found this review helpful.
Response from Dyson:By SuzetteCustomer Care18 April 2013
Hi Jonns1, thank you for submiting a review on your Dyson machine. Please be assured that the individual plastic parts are fully tested before a vacuum cleaner is launched. The entire vacuum cleaner is also tested at Dyson on a computerised rig that accurately simulates vacuuming at its most vigorous. As well as this we complete extensive home trials to replicate normal domestic use. In conclusion, the plastics used to manufacture Dyson vacuum cleaners have consistently proven to be durable and strong.
Ratings-Only Reviews for DC50 Multi Floor
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1